Lazy Sunday – Bonobo’s Essential Mix


the lazy sunday, a mix and a day at home

The melodic Electro from Bonobo settles in the Lazy Sunday for your greatest enjoyment

What would be a Sunday without the Lazy Sunday Mix? An ordinary Sunday… and that’s not what we want! Our Sunday is placed under the sign of discovery and mixes that shape the musical landscape we love!

In this edition, we present you Bonobo! A talented DJ and producer from Brighton, UK. His style: a chill electro, sometimes on the edge of Trip Hop. For the construction of his tracks, Bonobo often uses many samples combined with heavy and complex basslines.

dj bonobo mixing live

In few words, Bonobo released his first song “Terrapin” under the label Tru Thoughts in 1999. Still under the same record label, he released his first album called “Animal Magic”… a pure gem! Entirely self-produced, with this album, he became one of the pioneers of the “New Downtempo” genre.

After signing on the Ninja Tune label in 2003, Bonobo produced several albums including the famous “Black Sands” with the well known “The Keeper” as the lead single. Successful Dj and recognized by his peers, his tracks appeared on numerous compilations released by Tru Thoughts, Solid Steel, and so on and so forth.

As for today, we take an interest in the mix he produced for the “Essential Mix” series. A notorious radio show broadcast on BBC Radio 1 and hosted by Pete Tong. On the program of his very first Essential Mix broadcast on April 14, 2014, some very good Electro Downtempo tracks, enough to spend a very good end of the week, just as you like them. Included in this particular mixtape, the excellent remix of “Hey Now”, London Grammar.

Anyway, once again, a generous mixtape that invites us to travel and self-surrender for a moment…

– Press play and enjoy your Lazy Sunday –

1 – Vangelis – Abraham’s Theme
2 – Bonobo – Don’t Wait
3 – Letherette-D-T-(Dorian Concept Remix)
4 – Dark Sky – Clear
5 – Maya Janes Coles – Something In The Air (Bonobo remix)
6 – Catching Flies – Mama’s Wisdom
7 – Mano Le Tough – Primative People (Tale of Us Remix)
8 – Dauwd – Lydia
9 – Cut Head – Maputo Jam
10 – Maribou State – Moon Cirlces
11 – Sharon Van Etten – We Are Fine (Tourist Remix)
12 – Jimpster – Porchlight and Rocking Chairs (KiNK Remix)
13 – Lorca – Naoko
14 – Bonobo – First Fires (Maya Jane Coles remix)
15 – Jungle – Drops (Pedestrian Edit)
16 – Werkha – Lapwing
17 – Ten Walls – Requiem
18 – Francis Bebey – Bissao (Pilooski Edit)
19 – General Ludd – Woo Ha
20 – Romare – Jimmy
21 – Will Arcane – Reflected
22 – London Grammar – Hey Now (Bonobo remix)
23 – Taylor Mcferrin – Decisions feat. Emily King
24 – Throwing Snow – The Tempest feat. Adda Kaleh
25 – Kelis – Runnin’ (Machinedrum remix)
26 – Illum Sphere – Embryonic (lone remix)
27 – Martyn – Glassbeadgames (8 hours at fabric dub)

More infos on Bonobo:
Facebook, Twitter, Soundcloud