James Brown in the Lazy Sunday


the lazy sunday, a mix and a day at home

A tribute to the Godfather of Soul with a mixtape stamped J. Period

A good sunny Sunday, it’s change compare to the past few months… To celebrate this Sunday with an air of Spring, we will listen to in The Lazy Sunday Mix, a Soul mix that highlights the musical legacy kindly left by James Brown.

It is not really necessary to present the Godfather of Soul. Only to hear his name, we all have a little “I Feel Good” or “It’s A Man’s, Man’s, Man’s World” that comes whistling in our ears.

james brown dancing

However, we can say something about J. Period, maker of this fabulous mix “The Legacy of James Brown”. DJ, producer, remixer and storyteller, his favourite style is the Hip Hop. Rolling Stone Mag nicknamed him the “Music Guru” and the New York Times praises him with a “World’s Top DJs”, it says a lot about the character. He also supported on tour many artists such as Lauryn Hill, The Roots and Q-Tip. And to add more credit to his long and successful career, the young man is also the creator of the opening theme song of the NBA basketball team: The Brooklyn Nets.

Let’s go back to our Lazy Sunday mix. For this mixtape in honor of James Brown, J. Period takes us on a musical journey through the catalogue, lives and reinterpretations of the great name of Soul. An 80 minutes journey that is far too short. “The Legacy Of James Brown” is part of a series of mixes called “The Big Payback”.

– Press play and enjoy your Lazy Sunday –

Download The Legacy Of James Brown

More infos on J. Period:
Facebook, SoundCloud, JPeriod.com

1. Intro/Sex Machine (Jorun Bombay Dub Version)
2. It’s Star Time!/Ain’t It Funky (Remix)
3. Soul Power (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
4. What Is Soul? (Interlude)
5. Mind Power (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
6. Teach the Newcomers/Dead On It (Remix)
7. Ants In My Pants (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
8. Monopoly on Soul (Interlude)
9. Drive That Funky Soul (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
10. No Compromise (Interlude)
11. Papa’s Got A Brand New Bag
12. Superbad (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
13. Feel Alright (Live)
14. Inspiration (Interlude)
15. Got That Feeling/Way You Make Me Feel (Remix) feat. Michael Jackson
16. Eddie Murphy Interlude
17. Cold Sweat (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
18. Get Up, Get Into It, Get Involved (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
19. Al Sharpton Interlude
20. Hot Pants Road (J.PERIOD Remix) feat. Public Enemy
21. Blow Your Head/Soul Pride (J.PERIOD Remix)
22. The Grunt vs. Public Enemy (J.PERIOD Remix)
23. New Generation (Interlude) /Cross The Tracks
24. The Era of Sampling (Interlude) feat. Big Daddy Kane
25. Hot Pants (I’m Coming)
26. I Know You Got Soul
27. Pass the Peas (J.PERIOD Remix) feat. Rakim
28. The Beginning of Hip Hop (Interlude)
29. More Peas (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
30. Sampling More Peas (J.PERIOD Remix)
31. There Was a Time/Treat Em Right (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
32. My Favorite Artist (Interlude) feat. Kanye West
33. Funky President (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
34. Talkin Loud & Sayin Nothing (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
35. Can Mind/One for All (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
36. My Thang (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
37. What’s Your Secret? (Interlude)/Your Love
38. It’s My Thing (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
39. Blind Man Can See (Jorun Bombay x J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
40. Funky Drummer (Make Me Sweat) (Jorun Bombay Remix)
41. Funky Drummer (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
42. Not Part of the Establishment (Interlude)
43. You Can Have Watergate (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
44. Same Gang/Untitled Instrumental (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
45. Escape-Ism (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
46. Greedy G
47. Get On the Good Foot
48. Unwind Yourself (J.PERIOD Re-Edit) feat. DJ Kool
49. Think (J.PERIOD “These Are The Breaks” Remix)
50. Give It Up Turn It Loose (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
51. MLK Assasination (Interlude)
52. Say it Loud (Jorun Bombay x J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
53. So Hard
54. Spell The Name Right (Interlude)
55. The Boss/Get Down (J.PERIOD Re-Edit) feat. Nas
56. Blues & Pants (J.PERIOD Remix) feat. B.I.G.
57. The Big Payback (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
58. Bring It Up/Manifest (J.PERIOD Remix)
59. Papa Don’t Take No Mess (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
60. Legacy of JB (Interlude)/Popcorn With a Feeling
61. I’m Not to Blame (J.PERIOD Re-Edit)
62. Man’s World/Thank You (Outtro)
63. Bonus: I Feel Good (Tall Black Guy Flip-Up)